Dreamweaver Color Panel

I am happily working away on my Dreamweaver quilt.  I love it.  I love the design.  I love the fabrics.  I can’t work as quickly as I would like to because “responsibility” gets in the way.  That responsibility thing is always ruining a good time.  🙂  But I am very pleased that I’ve pieced the first panel of the quilt.

Dreamweaver Panel

It’s not a great picture, but it’s hotter than Hades in New Hampshire this morning (86 degrees at 8:30 am) and the heat sucks the soul and creativity out of me.  Seriously.  I moved 1300 miles from Florida to New Hampshire for a REASON!!  😉  Regardless of how uncreative the picture is, it is certainly utilitarian: you can’t miss how beautiful the fabric is!!  Again, the Dreamweaver quilt is from Quilts from the House of Tula Pink: 20 Fabric Projects to Make, Use and Love.  [I just noticed a nice added bonus: Amazon is now letting Prime members borrow the Kindle version for free.]

The photography and styling in Quilts from The House of Tula Pink is the work of Elizabeth Mason.  Her work is straight eye-candy.  As an FYI, yes, the book actually does have printed directions.  This is not my pattern and I claim no right to it, therefore I blurred out all directions out of the photo.  It is definitely worth mentioning though that Tula Pink’s directions are super easy to follow!!

Tula Pink Dreamweaver Quilt

If you make it according to the directions, the original Dreamweaver quilt layout looks like this:

Tula Pink Dreamweaver Layout

But I’m not following the original layout.  The finished quilt is 80×96 and that is way too large for me; I’m looking for a throw/lap quilt.  So, I took out one of the panels of color and my quilt will have four instead of five.  It will still be a very large throw (I’m looking at 80×80), but a little more manageable that 80×96.  My other options for shrinking it down include reducing it to three color panels and increasing the sashing between them (I’m using gray) or eliminating the sashing and piecing four color panels directly together.  I’ll wait to see how it looks when I have all of the color panels pieced before I make up my mind.  Looking back, I should have shrunk the size of the blocks that make the color panel but I really kind like how large they are.  [shrug]  What can I say, I’m making adjustments as I’m going along.  🙂

2 responses to “Dreamweaver Color Panel

Talk to me!!

