Kate & Birdie Paper Co. Winter’s Lane… [swoon]

Winter's Lane - Kate and Birdie Paper Co. for Moda

LOOK WHAT I FOUND IN MY MAILBOX!!  I’m not one to a.) impulse buy fabric, 2.) buy fabric immediately from the first seller I find, 3.) buy fabric online from a new designer without having seen their work in person first, or 4.) buy an entire fat quarter bundle, but sometimes you lose your mind and your heart is clicking the “buy” button.  I ran across Winter’s Lane on Etsy and was just love struck.  It was so new that only a couple shop owners were selling it.  I bought mine from MaggieAnne.  (She shipped it Priority Mail the same day by the way.  I LOVE that!) I originally saw a listing for a layer cake by another shop, but when I did a search for Winter’s Lane, I found the two sellers with fat quarter bundles.  Naturally, I immediately thought about how much more I can make with the fat quarter bundle than the 10×10 inch squares of a layer cake and there was no way I was passing up the bundle especially because with the total amount of fabric I was looking at and the selling prices offered, a fat quarter bundle was a MUCH better buy than a layer cake.  MaggieAnne had it much cheaper than the other seller including shipping.  Sold!

Let’s take a closer look…

Winter's Lane - Kate and Birdie Paper Co. for Moda

I love it.  I do.  I was so nervous because I hadn’t seen it in person first, but it really is quite beautiful.  Now that I’ve seen it first hand, I can pick my favorites and order yardage for backing.  I really have no idea what I’ll be making yet (I’m not interested in the pillow project sheet that Moda issued for the fabric) but I’ve got a few ideas.  I’ll be making a Christmas tree quilt.  The thing is that I don’t know what size.  Part of me wants to make a throw, but then again, I can make a wall hanging size and display it.  We’ll see.

Winter's Lane - Kate and Birdie Paper Co. for Moda

Here is the top part of the panel that came with the fat quarter pack.  It’s Christmas cards!!  [swoon]  I’m also going to use the Christmas cards on the panel to make a banner like show on the project sheet.

Winter's Lane - Kate and Birdie Paper Co. for Moda

And here’s the bottom part of the panel.  I love the gift tags!  I’ll probably use the pillow part of the panel to back the Christmas cards for my banner.

Winter's Lane - Kate and Birdie Paper Co. for Moda

I have never seen such a darling selvage in my entire life of sewing.  I’ll definitely incorporate it in to one of my projects!!  🙂

7 responses to “Kate & Birdie Paper Co. Winter’s Lane… [swoon]

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and your kind words about my quilt. Loving your lovely new blog. I can’t imagine trying to quilt while in grad school. I didn’t do so much as make a sandwich during the three years I completed my master’s. I’m terribly envious of this FQB. I may go in search online for my own.

    Like

  2. i made a jelly roll race quilt and strategically placed the reds at the top and bottom – this is one of my favorite quilts ever. the color combos are fabulous for winter, and if you forget to put it away – who cares? such a great color mix. totally agree about the selvage – never have i seen another so sweet!

    Like

    • Sounds beautiful… I LOVE those jelly roll race quilts! Sadly, I got away from sewing for awhile so I did not use Winter’s Lane this year but I’ve picked several projects for next Christmas. If I start my holiday sewing by June, I’ll be done in time! LOL!!

      Like

Talk to me!!

