48 Hours in the Day, Please.

Hello… it’s me!  Yes, I’m still here but I’ve been so busy I don’t know whether I’m coming or going.  The season is upon us at work so I’m there all of the time it seems.  When I’m not at work, I’m busy with my final project for my Master’s.  It’s due.  Now.  To make things even more complicated some jobs have been posted and I’m applying for them.  So in the middle of all of this, I had to get my resume together and now I have to get my portfolio together in case I get an interview.  There is just not enough time in the day unless I stop sleeping.  It’s getting intense.  My eye has been twitching since Sunday.  TWITCHING!!  My Eye!!!  [sigh]

In other news, I have not done much in the way of sewing or quilting.  I still haven’t been able to make it to the quilt store to get the dark gray sashing for the Dreamweaver quilt.  The plan was that I would work on the Cocoon quilt until I can make it to the store for the Dreamweaver sashing.  Sadly, that hasn’t worked out well with everything else I’ve got going on; however, I have managed to start working on fixing some of the blocks that were messed up because the jelly roll was cut so badly.  There are 49 total blocks and 24 of them need to be fixed.  Bummer.  I completely fixed five of them and then I decided the process was going too slow so I put them all in a stack and ripped all of the seams that needed to come out.  Now I’ve just got to find the time to mark them to where they should be and sew them back together.  I’ll post more on that later.

I haven’t had much of a life outside of work, my paper, and my job hunt but everyday life does go on.  I got a fabulous new magazine from Tractor Supply… and I mean FABULOUS!  Without further ado:

Modern Farmer Magazine

Isn’t it beautiful?!  The Huff Post called it “The Vogue of Farming Magazines“.  And it is.  It is just stunningly beautiful.  Honestly, I don’t see the white male rural heartland corn farmer reading this thing no matter what they say about it having something for everyone.  It’s just too pretty and probably too pretentious for him.  It really is more of a foodie magazine than a farmer magazine, but that said it has a lot to offer the foodie and the farmer.  Now to be fair, the organic farming in China article was a waste of space as are a couple of the other smaller ones, but the main articles really pack a punch in terms of getting you thinking about food problems and how to solve them.  The growing a cocktail garden article was completely pretentious.  They honestly should have done a grow-an-herb-garden-and-look-at-what-you-can-do-with-herbs article instead.  It’s an example of how some of the articles are just too short to be of any use.  I think they did that because they wanted as many articles as possible, but in doing so, they made what should have been great articles shallow and frivolous.  The wild pig article though was epic.  The best part about the magazine is that it highlights farmer, food system challenges, and efforts to create sustainable business relationships with small farmers  around the globe.  Ultimately, Modern Farmer succeeds at the mission of the printed word: the spread of ideas.  Now, I haven’t had time to read it cover to cover yet.  I’ve been reading on my breaks at work.  It makes me sad that I can’t just sit down and read it straight through, but 15 minutes of reading here and 15 minutes of reading there is better than no reading at all I say.  I also checked out the Modern Farmer website.  HOLY COW!  That thing is chock-full of informative articles that they update almost daily.  There’s also a section where they post some of the articles featured in the magazine.  Go ahead… read a few!

Blueberry Soda

In even bigger news, IT’S THE START OF BLUEBERRY SODA SEASON!!!!!  I wait for this every year with giddy anticipation.  I got to have my first cold one of the season on Tuesday.  This is truly what Mother Nature created the humble blueberry for… 🙂  Yes, I sipped and savored.  Besides, chugging soda never goes well for me.

Jake and His Flock

And in news around the yard, our chickens are amazing and they are getting so big!  That is Beyonce the chicken in Two Quilts and a Chicken hanging out behind our Buff Orpingtons.  Beyonce and the two darker chickens are Araucanas.  Jake wasn’t always awesome with the chickens.  He wanted to eat them when we brought them home, but we trained him and Holly to play nice.  Luke was never an issue: he loves all living things.  The chickens know it too because they really love Luke.

Jake Watching and Waiting

I would love to say that Jake is protecting his flock here, but what he’s really doing is waiting for the chickens to clear out so he can get into their food.  He’s a Choco with priorities.  🙂

One response to “48 Hours in the Day, Please.

Talk to me!!

