PSL!!

It is two o’clock in the afternoon.  I had a pumpkin spice latte for breakfast (PSL!!) and a half pound of mozzarella for lunch.  I’m going to say that this is probably not a well-rounded diet.  Given how much I like me a pumpkin spice latte and given the amount of sugar in a grande, starting a switch to a no sugar lifestyle at the start of the PSL season was probably not my best idea ever.  BUT… in my defense I am starting on a Monday, on the first of the month, and on the first day of a season.  Remember?  I just can’t pass up this perfect cosmic opportunity to make myself sad by eliminating all of the sugar from my life.

PSL!!

I’m going to be running this modified program of mine for eight weeks so I’m going to miss almost all of the PSL season but I will be having two of them.  One was this morning and the second will be a last hurrah this weekend.  By the time I’m done making myself crazy, Starbucks will be rolling into red cup season and I’ll have access to peppermint mochas.  See what I did there?  I inadvertently planned to start this bull[poop] diet a week into PSL season so I could have at least a couple of them and end it before the start of peppermint mocha season.

Yes, I have seen all of the posts and memes circulating on Facebook about how bad the PSL is for me.  It’s filled with chemicals.  It’s filled with sugar.  It doesn’t have any pumpkin in it.  What the [insert-very-inappropriate-word-here]ing hell did you expect, people?!  Of course it isn’t good for you.  Don’t go putting all of your shock and drama and feigned indignation on parade over the PSL because I’m telling you right now… I. don’t. care.  In fact, it makes me want to add a third one to my PSL schedule just for spite.

Revised PSL schedule:

  1. 8/27… first PSL of the season to celebrate that it’s the first one of the season
  2. 8/28… a last minute added PSL because spite* never tasted so good
  3. 8/29… last PSL before quitting sugar

* I usually go grande but spite tastes best served in a venti cup.

Talk to me!!

