Dog Food and Diet

image

One day, I was picking up the monthly rations at Stateline for the four-legged ones and it occurred to me that they eat better than I do.  I mean… I don’t want their food, but seriously it is a much healthier and balanced diet than the one I feed myself.  The difference between them and me is that I have options and they eat (in record speed) what is put in front of them.

A dog food recall for melamine poisoning is what spurned me to action to find them a better quality food source.  It was terrifying as reports were coming in of more and more pets sickened (or dying) and a daily expanding list of foods affected.  I became militant about researching foods.  I learned more about nutrition over the course of a couple of months than I ever thought possible including protein sources, carb sources, and vegetables.  I discovered that a dog’s health is not just about melamine poisoning; it’s about types of food and how they affect health.  Several years later, I still research pet food to make sure I buy the best option available to me financially and I still call companies regularly to confirm sourcing and safety protocol.  I will not let these bird-watching babies…

image

…eat anything that could hurt them.  So why the fuck do I still eat stuff I know is dangerous to my health?

I could further bore you with a list of dozens of excuses (I’ve given myself TONS of them in great detail) but let’s just say this: my brain is stupid and makes poor choices because it’s designed to crave high calorie stuff.  And I mean, really, isn’t anything that involves an Oreo the best thing ever?  The problem is that human brains aren’t made to know this 2016 and I’m not a hunter/gatherer.  Want a healthier diet?  It comes down to discipline and self-control.  Two of the five things I hate in life along with: not being ridiculously wealthy, Monsanto, and a cashmere allergy.

So it’s time to suck it up and start making conscious decisions instead of letting my carb crack addict brain make them for me.  That means I’m going with what is widely called “clean eating” except I’m going to stick to a 2016 resolution and I’m not going to beat myself up if I have a wrap or a cupcake at a birthday party every now and then.  The way I figure, being militant has never worked for me before so it’s not going to work for me now.

 

In Other News…

  • Agatha likes clean eating too.  I came home to find her eating a mouse.  I would love to say that I’m not completely freaked out.  Half of it was on the floor in front of her.  She was going to attack me for trying to take it away so I backed away.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m pretty happy that I’m not sharing my home with a mouse anymore but it was gross and crunchy.  Bonus: the memory of her slurping the tail like spaghetti is gonna make it real easy to give up pasta!
image

Agatha, Apex Predator, has identified her next kill.

 

  • I got A Clash of Kings, the second book of Game of Thrones today.  I really wish I had time to binge read it start to finish!!!  It’s really going to be hard to sit and read without cookies [blush] but it’s going to happen!!
Talk to me!!

